Top 5 Best Things That Would Happen if You Gave Up Tech for a Week and Why

1. I would read again. Forcing myself to stay off of my computer would lead to me reading all of the books I have on my shelf that haven’t been read yet. My computer takes up most of my nights with surfing or movies, but that opened up time could allow me to read Count Zero finally. Even writing this out is making me remember how much I love reading and that I should be doing it far more frequently.

2. It would force my friends and I to talk a lot more when we hang out. We talk enough as it is, but it might lead to more introspection from each person and a better understanding of the people I spend so much time with. For the friends I’ve grow up with it probably wouldn’t seem too much different but all of the ones I’ve met at UMD would probably know me better.

3. New adventures! The more I think about life without tech, the less I know what I’d do without it. That would force me to just go out and do different things. And while I’m not opposed to change in my everyday life, it certainly would force it upon me at a more frequent rate. I’ve been meaning to do a bunch of different things around this city for some time now. This would probably be when I’d do those things.

4. It would bring back the excitement of watching a show every week. Netflix and Hulu have ruined TV show watching for me. Eliminating those would bring back that rush of excitement I used to get when my favorite show would come on each week. Now, I don’t even really like only watching one episode at a time and it really takes the anticipation out of the equation.

5. Connecting with newspapers. It’d be nice to have to rely on the newspapers for box scores, movie listings, and other every day things again. I used to love reading the paper each morning but I really don’t need it anymore with all of the information being readily available online. I miss the days when I needed the tribunes of the world.

Leave a Reply

